Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Daylilies: Growing 'Naked Ladies'

Communities > Forums > Daylilies
bookmark
Forum: DayliliesReplies: 13, Views: 312
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
LouisianaSweetPea
Mount Hermon, LA
(Zone 8b)

June 14, 2004
1:22 AM

Post #908788

I am not certain if this is the correct forum, but here goes: I am a real newbie at growing any type of bulb, and I need help.

I saw a picture of the naked lady blossoms (Amaryllis belladonna) and fell in love with the flowers.

I've just received the 12 bulbs I purchased, but I have NO IDEA how these amaryllis grow. I had read that first there is foliage, then a stalk, then the foliage dies back, and then the flowers come. Is that correct?

Then what happens? Do they bloom for a short period and then does everything die back?

And is it okay to plant them now, in June?

I shared the bulbs with my sister, who asked:
when the foliage appears
when the foliage die-back occurs
when they bloom
does one bulb produce one flower stalk
etc.,
and I couldn't tell her a thing.

Can anyone explain how and when this plant grows? Thank you.

Jean
Eglantyne
Gardiner, ME
(Zone 5a)

June 14, 2004
1:37 AM

Post #908816

Hi Jean,
where did You see a picture ? or where did You buy it from ?
I just received a bulb in my DL trade and I figured it was a Amaryllus but so far have no idea how it looks like,
Brigitte
Eglantyne
Gardiner, ME
(Zone 5a)

June 14, 2004
1:44 AM

Post #908827

Jean I just found a picture,it is GEORGEOUS...You are right :-)
Brigitte
mariajose
Lafayette, IN
(Zone 5a)

June 14, 2004
1:57 AM

Post #908848