Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Tomatoes: Tomatoes: Tomato Blossoms Falling Off

Communities > Forums > Tomatoes
bookmark
Forum: TomatoesReplies: 5, Views: 4,543
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Re_Joyce
Northern, NJ
(Zone 6a)

June 12, 2001
11:40 PM

Post #6404

I have two Brandywine and two Big Boy tomatoes. They are planted in large plastic pots (15 gal. approx). They have many blossoms, but the blossoms are dropping off at the stem about 1/2 inch above the blossom.

This is my first year in Zone 6 and the first year I've tried to grow tomatoes in many years. I have no idea what's going on. We had an invasion of little green (not hornworms) caterpillars in May and early June. I haven't seen any more of them and there seemed to be little clear bumps on the trunks and stems that I sprayed with a combination of dishsoap and mouthwash in water and then blasted the plants with water and they seem much healthier. But the blasted blooms are falling off.

Any recommendations or diagnoses?
TIA.

Joyce

melody

melody
Benton, KY
(Zone 7a)

June 13, 2001
12:25 AM

Post #82663

How hot has it been Joyce?
Brandywines are notirious for blossom drop..especially in heat.The Big boys are another matter.They're hybrids and should be adapted to most temps in the US.

There is a spray that helps keep tomato blossoms from dropping,but I've never used it.I've seen it at our ag store.It comes in a little pump bottle like windex.You might ask there. I feel that you may want to have your soil analyzed..I fear that you are lacking some nutrient.I don't think the catapillars contirbuted to the blossom drop,but it's just as well that you got rid of them.
Pete2
Richmond Hill, GA
(Zone 8b)

June 13, 2001
1:46 AM

Post #82688