Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Herbs: Spikenard - fun for the whole family...

Communities > Forums > Herbs
bookmark
Forum: HerbsReplies: 3, Views: 749
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
pisces

(Zone 4b)

June 13, 2001
12:55 PM

Post #6424

Hi y'all!
I'm new to the herbs forum here at Dave's Garden, but I figured if anyone can help me, it would be you!

I'm really interested in cultivating Spikenard (latin: Nardostachys Jatamansi). I have the essential oil (it's the oil mentioned in the Songs of Solomon, and is the oil which was broken over the feet of Jesus - very mysterious and exotic, dank and wonderful!) but I would like to cultivate the plant. Does anyone have any idea whether or not I would be able to do this indoors? I live in New Brunswick (Eastern Canada), so growing it outside is out of the question. But I'm *hoping* that I can mirror the climate of the Middle East in some remote corner of the apartment, and grow my own Spikenard plants.

Do any of you know anything at all about Spikenard - how it grows, where I could get a plant (or even seeds, for that matter), whether or not it can be grown indoors? I've tried searching the net, but nada. I've only found stuff on the oil.

Thanks guys!
pisces
onecent
Selah, WA
(Zone 6a)

June 13, 2001
5:05 PM

Post #82852

Ritchers has a spikenard-aralia racemosa. www.richters.com

Horizon herbs has spikenard roots and seeds and they are aralia californica from the araliaceae family. http://www.chatlink.com?~herbseed

Well-Sweep herb farm has Spikenard-aralia racemosa plants

Hope this helps. Didn't find anything that had Nardostachys
Jatamansi in it. If you ever come a cross some seeds I love to trade with you.

Penny "onecent"
pisces

(Zone 4b)

June 24, 2001
12:48 PM

Post #86449