Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

PlantFiles Pictures: Pakalana Vine (Telosma cordata)

Communities > Forums > PlantFiles Pictures
bookmark
Forum: PlantFiles PicturesReplies: 2, Views: 79
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Clare_CA

(Zone 10b)

August 26, 2004
3:18 PM

Post #1020116

Pakalana Vine, Tonkin Jasmine, Cowslip Creeper
Telosma cordata

Telosma in bloom.

http://davesgarden.com/pf/go/60783/

Thumbnail by Clare_CA
Click the image for an enlarged view.

FNT_SD
San Diego, CA

March 17, 2005
4:45 PM

Post #1344120

Clare...I am new to the Dave's Garden, but I am so impressed with the variety of plants that you have collected! Congratulations...

I live in Kearny Mesa, within but just North of the City of San Diego...the climate is very temperate, but I don't know enough about Zones or plant genus or family names yet to communicate intelligibly with you, but I'm a quick study...

My main interest at the moment is to grow Pakalana in San Diego...Do you know of anyone locally who has been as successful as you?...If so, could you put me in touch with them?...My father and mother were originally from Hawaii, and settled here in 1946...My dad had the magic "Green Thumb", and grew everything from the islands in our back yard in Spring Valley, including Pakalana...

I would like to get some cuttings or seeds, but have not had much luck locating any locally, and have not had much succes talking with the nurseries in Hawaii...Apparently, there is a ban on sending these items to the Mainland...Can you help?...I would gladly pay for the trouble...Please advise.

Mahalo...Francis Todd (619) 379-1226
Clare_CA

(Zone 10b)

March 17, 2005
6:19 PM

Post #1344350