Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Plant Identification: SOLVED: I know it's a bleeding heart, but what variety?

Communities > Forums > Plant Identification
bookmark
Forum: Plant IdentificationReplies: 8, Views: 143
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Rozilynn
Kerrville, TX

June 15, 2001
4:36 PM

Post #6561

Hello! I'm really in a bind here, and then I found this wonderful website! I'm a professional photographer, and I love flowers and gardens, but I am horrible at identifying things. I know that this is some sort of bleeding heart, but I need to know exactly what kind so I can label it. I've got a few flowers that I don't know about, but I'll let you try your hand at this one first! If you happen to know the scientific name I would really appreciate it!

Thanks,
Rozilynn

Thumbnail by Rozilynn
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Tim
Palmyra, VA
(Zone 7a)

June 15, 2001
5:07 PM

Post #83525

Clerodendrum Thomsoniae "Bleeding Heart Vine" ??

Compare it to a pic at http://members.aol.com/kartuzexotics4/vines.htm

There is also a red variety

This message was edited Friday, Jun 15th 1:09 PM
Rozilynn
Kerrville, TX

June 15, 2001
5:14 PM

Post #83527

That's it! Wow! How the heck did you find that? I've been searching for WEEKS!

Thanks Tim!

Rozilynn Mitchell

darius

darius
So.App.Mtns.
United States
(Zone 5b)

June 15, 2001
7:45 PM

Post #83566

Great photo, Rozilyn... I have just common red bleeding heart, but now that I have seen your photo, I want one of those! Thanks.
lantana

(Zone 7a)

June 15, 2001
8:37 PM

Post #83572

Do you grow that in Kerrville, TX?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!!! Many down here have failed at bleeding hearts because of the heat. How did you do that?

Larkie

Larkie
Camilla, GA
(Zone 8a)

June 15, 2001
8:53 PM

Post #83575