Propagation: Question about seed starting

Muncy, PA(Zone 5a)

This is my first year at seriously starting from seed. I have been sowing seed in containers, putting them in a ziplock bag and putting them on a seed tape, or furnace. When the seeds germinate, they go under the lights. What I want to know is, whether this is too much for the seeds. I am not getting the germination I thought I would. I realize that some need cold treatment, but barring that, is this the right way to go? Thanks for any help

Schenevus, NY

i've been starting seeds for about 4 yrs. every year i say no more but it has actually gotten bigger. I do not have a basement in this house so soon I take over the pool table with lights on a wood frame i cobbed together. I move the plants down as they grow. I found in my zone 4 its too early to start now(except for the plants that need cold) they get tooo big and go into minor shock outside. What are you starting now?

Muncy, PA(Zone 5a)

Eiroberts,
I am starting cimcifuga, liatris, st john's wort, variegated catmint, daylily, lobelia, splish splash geranium, platycodon. I realize that some of them need some cold treatment. I couldn't wait til the end of next month so I am experiencing too. I have a bunch of seed sown outdoors in containers too. Mostly those that need cold treatment.

Saint Paul, MN(Zone 4a)

Eiroberts: also from Zone 4. What and when do you start indoors? I am going to try seeds for the first time, now that I understand what "hardening off" means. I'm pretty thick about this, but I sure love it!
Thanks

Hi,

I've found that a lot of hardy Geraniums germinate in a few days if you nick the end (I use nailclippers) and put them in a piece of folded damp paper towel, then put that in a loosely folded plastic bag anywhere indoors. Takes up a lot less room than pots.

Menahga, MN(Zone 3b)