Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Texas Gardening: Texas Sage wanted badly

Communities > Forums > Texas Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Texas GardeningReplies: 13, Views: 177
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Abbyflower
Big Bear City, CA

January 11, 2005
6:27 AM

Post #1232303

Hello,

I am new to the membership and am trying to locate Leucophyllum frutescens also known as Texas Sage or Texas Ranger. It is native to TX.

I live in the high dessert in California where the temps range from 0 to 100. This plant looks like it might just be the ticket for me.

Can ya'll help me find one?

Thanks,

Abby
eyesoftexas
Toadsuck, TX
(Zone 7a)

January 12, 2005
1:37 PM

Post #1234076

Catch me in the spring, Abby...got plenty. Be prepared, as it reseeds like crazy!

"eyes"
sugarweed
Jacksonville & Okeec, FL
(Zone 9a)

January 13, 2005
11:29 AM

Post #1235568

Me too??? Please "Eyes".
The smell of it and Marigolds for some reason jerk my memories back to my childhood.
Any root vegetable grow in Hale County also does this and blooming cotton too.
Little Mini trips back to Texas.
Sidney
salvia_lover
Modi'in
Israel

January 13, 2005
1:03 PM

Post #1235661

eyes mine has never reseeded. I have 4 bushes of it and it stays put. I wonder if mine is a sterile type?

-Julie
eyesoftexas
Toadsuck, TX
(Zone 7a)

January 13, 2005
7:51 PM

Post #1236309

Sure sugarweed...jog my memory in April.

"eyes"
seedpicker_TX
(Taylor) Plano, TX
(Zone 8a)

January 14, 2005
2:07 AM

Post #1236897

HI!
I have two in one gallon containers that I bought last year, and decided not to plant. I'd be more than willing to trade them for a CA plant indicative to your area!
Let me know!
Two California plants that I've been on a hunt for are distictis laxiflora and distictis rivers...
-Taylor
Abbyflower
Big Bear City, CA

January 18, 2005
7:38 PM

Post #1244945