Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Texas Gardening: Thornless Mexican Lime

Communities > Forums > Texas Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Texas GardeningReplies: 8, Views: 156
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
araness
Auburn, AL
(Zone 8a)

April 18, 2005
4:36 PM

Post #1410829

I bought a Thornless Mexican Lime this year from Home Depot and so far it's looking great (it's in a patio container) on my back porch in full sun. We already have flowers, how long does it generally take to fruit? It seems to like our weather here in Texas (I'm in Orange, TX) But since I'm new to the state I'm not sure the growing times and any special needs I might run into here. Can you pass along any helpful hints? Thanks
Saint
bettydee
La Grange, TX
(Zone 8b)

April 19, 2005
12:01 AM

Post #1411727

Where is Orange, TX? Unless you live in the Valley or along the Gulf Coast, you live outside of the Citrus Climate ( Year round growing zone.) Meyer lemons and Satsuma mandarins can survive, with some protection, in Zone 8b or higher, when planted in a protected area. Limes are more sensative to frost. You will have to overwinter it indoors, greenhouse, lite garage, etc. Use a citrus fertilizer. If you can't find it, use Rhododendron and azalea fertilizer. Leaves should be green. If the tree has pale green leaves, it most likely needs nitrogen. It takes about 5-6 months after it blooms for the fruit to ripen. Don't be surprised if most of the blooms drop off. Only about 5% of the flowers go on to produce fruit and then most of that drops off by the time they reach golf ball size.
araness
Auburn, AL
(Zone 8a)

April 19, 2005
1:13 AM

Post #1411857