Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Texas Gardening: Anyone using "earth boxes" in Tyler, Texas area?

Communities > Forums > Texas Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Texas GardeningReplies: 25, Views: 12
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
wysocki3
Tyler, TX
(Zone 8a)

May 29, 2005
3:05 PM

Post #1505691

Hi...I am new to Dave's Garden. I live in Tyler, Texas and ordered some "earth boxes" last week. Does anyone in Tyler or nearby use them?
maggiemoo
Conroe, TX
(Zone 9a)

May 29, 2005
11:48 PM

Post #1506489

Greetings, wysocki1, and welcome to the garden! Surely if someone from your area has them, they will come along soon.

I'm not from your area, but I did buy one a couple of years ago, when all my pines were taken out and I finally had some sun! I planted a couple of tomato plants, got LOTS of growth, but very few tomatos. I suspect that only one of the problems had to do with the planter: they say in the instructions to place the fabric cover over the soil with the black side up. The instructions tell Floridians to place the white side up. I think it's too hot here to use the black side, suspect the roots were just too hot. I think that the main reason I didn't have success is that I don't know diddly about growing tomatos!! I've been told one problem was that the flowers were not getting pollinated, someone else told me I should have added... something, I don't remember... to the soil. Anyway, I've been so busy working to build and establish my flower beds the last two summers, I haven't tried it again - yet. I do intend to, and this time I'll have fellow DG'ers to help me (I didn't before)!

Be sure to let us know how it works out! What are you planning to plant? How many containers did you get?
wysocki3
Tyler, TX
(Zone 8a)

May 30, 2005
12:41 PM

Post #1507428