Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Florida Gardening: Field Trip to Top Tropicals

Communities > Forums > Florida Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Florida GardeningReplies: 67, Views: 35
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
MollyMc
Archer/Bronson, FL
(Zone 8b)

July 8, 2005
12:24 AM

Post #1606593

Today I met up with Artcons and Jnana at Top Tropicals. They sure do have a lot of unusual plants. We had a great time at the nursery, and then went on to tour Jnana's gardens.

Last week Happy_1 (she had car troubles and couldn't make it today) and I toured Artcons gardens. Art is a self taught master at propagating from cuttings.

Jnana, a master gardener, has so many different varieties of plants, bushes, trees and vines. She has a compact yard but everything is wonderfully laid out. She has just a little bit of grass she is trying to get rid of, for more plants. She remembers everything, all their names and all.

We took some clippings and Art took them home to root them out. You could say I was being lazy, but he does a great job with cuttings, and I had to run off to see a customer so didn't want them in the car, cooking.

Okay, this is what I picked up today:
1 Gardenia Kula- Golden Gardenia
4 Crossandra "Shamrock Green"
2 Clitoria "Blue"
2 Jewels of Opar, Solid Green with pink flowers
1 Cuphea, Bat Face

Art took pictures so hopefully he will find us here and post some.

I didn't get home til about 7 and found a box on the porch from Pinnellas Park. Guess what it was...plants. :^))))))

A great day today and so wonderful meeting our gardening friends. Next week, it's at my house!!!!

Molly
:^)))

PerennialGirl
Winnipeg, MB
(Zone 4a)

July 8, 2005
12:33 AM

Post #1606619

Sounds like you had fun, Molly and that you got some nice goodies!!
:) Donna
jnana
South Florida, FL
(Zone 10b)

July 8, 2005