Photo by Melody

African Violets and Gesneriads: Problem With Chirita Leaves - Tips Turning Brown

Communities > Forums > African Violets and Gesneriads
bookmark
Forum: African Violets and GesneriadsReplies: 8, Views: 16
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
TERRI0724
Garner, NC

September 22, 2005
5:16 PM

Post #1775242

Hello! I am somewhat new to Dave's Garden; I have visited the Hoya forum most often. I have recently expanded into Gesneriads: African Violets, Chiritas, 1 Episcia, & 1 Streptocarpus and love them! The tips of the leaves of my Chiritas are turning brown & are dry & brittle - you can crumble the ends off. They were very healthy when I got them from a local greenhouse, and were doing fine until about several weeks ago. I have Aiko, Chastity - blooming but now fewer blooms it seems & falling off rather quickly, and Stardust (blooming). Tamiania is not having this problem however.

They are on a shelf unit - 2 shelves down below a grow light (grow light only above the top shelf) facing west in front of a sliding glass door. It is a wooded lot and they do not get any direct sun (maybe a little dappled sun late in the afternoon) - and now not even as much, but it seems very light. Can you help me figure out what I am doing wrong? I have trimmed the edges off - the poor things looked so bad. I cut off some of the leaves because the browning went back to about half of the leaf. The browing of the leaf tips is starting on the bottom leaves and working up the plants.
**I use Dyna Grow fertilizers (the Grow & the Bloom - alternatley usually) with each watering 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. per gallon of water - sometimes I use a few drops of Superthrive too... and I have also used Greenlight Superbloom & Peter's African Violet fertilizer (w/out urea). As far as watering, I don't believe I am letting them dry out too much and I don't think I'm over watering really...I use a moisture meter and when it shows in the dry zone, I water - I guess it's about once @ week.