Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Welcome Mat: *Newbie* From Alaska!

Communities > Forums > Welcome Mat
bookmark
Forum: Welcome MatReplies: 19, Views: 115
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
PolarIce_AK
Soldotna, AK
(Zone 6a)

October 27, 2005
9:49 PM

Post #1842376

I actually signed up a few days ago and have met a few people, but just found “The Welcome Mat”! So far I love this website! There is an incredible amount of information here!

I am a newbie to gardening AND to Alaska as well! I am beginning to understand that this is going to be a challenging combination that I am very much looking forward to!

We have 2 acres with a ˝ acre lake and a small garden pond. My plans are to put in a herb garden around the pond, (after reading about ponds in the forms, I might even expand the pond! Unfortunately I think it is to cold here for fish) I also want to put in a small veggie garden on the lake side of the house/cabin. I will have to learn how to build and use a greenhouse, what I can & can’t grow here. I would like to do some landscaping as well! (Mostly with the native plants & trees that grow in this area) but I would like flowers & shrubs around the house! I probably wont be able to put in the fruit & pine trees I want, but maybe I can find some that will work here. The north side of the property has been left natural with lots of trees, I would like to maybe put in some trails so that it can be enjoyed but left as natural as possible. The lake (like the woods) I would like to keep as natural as possible but usable.

Soooo much to do and learn!! This will truly be “The Golden Years” I can hardly wait!
jlmmkm
Myrtle Beach, SC

October 27, 2005
9:54 PM

Post #1842384