Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Woodworking: Woodworkers unite!

Communities > Forums > Woodworking
bookmark
Forum: WoodworkingReplies: 104, Views: 613
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
drdon
Temecula, CA
(Zone 8b)

January 10, 2006
2:00 PM

Post #1966012

hiya fellow woodbutchers...lol.

Let's see how many of us there actually are here.

For those of you that don't know me I'm drdon, I have a small shop and do some woodworking and woodturning. I'm still a bit of a novice, but hope someday to be able to do some cool stuff.
drdon
Temecula, CA
(Zone 8b)

January 10, 2006
2:06 PM

Post #1966038

Here's a couple of bowls I recently turned. The taller one is made from a single billet of Bubinga, an African hardwood, the darker, smaller one is from a single billet of the Mexican hardwood Cocobolo.

The Bubinga bowl

Thumbnail by drdon
Click the image for an enlarged view.

drdon
Temecula, CA
(Zone 8b)

January 10, 2006
2:07 PM

Post #1966043

Cocobolo

Thumbnail by drdon

dave

January 10, 2006
2:19 PM

Post #1966082

I'm raising my hand!! I've always been into construction (barns, chicken coops, and such-like) and very recently I have started getting into building finer items. I even got a router last month.

Over the last month, I've read several books about fine woodworking and I'm close to getting my feet wet. My first project will be a hand-made dove-tailed carcass box.

On my want list is a jointer, planer and a table saw. A lathe would be fun but that's for later. :)

I hope to participate and learn a lot in this forum!
SoCal
Huntington Beach, CA
(Zone 10a)

January 10, 2006
3:42 PM

Post #1966281