Photo by Melody

Soap and Candle-making: Who are the soapmakers???

Communities > Forums > Soap and Candle-making
bookmark
Forum: Soap and Candle-makingReplies: 73, Views: 491
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
gingerlily
Paxton, FL
(Zone 8a)

January 13, 2006
10:18 PM

Post #1974345

Okay, I'll start. I've been making old timey lye soap for around 15-20 years. It ain't pretty, but it shore is good. I do use fragrances, though. I'm sure there are other soapmakers, fess up!
throneofyord
College Station, TX
(Zone 8b)

January 13, 2006
11:24 PM

Post #1974483

I make my own soap for my family and my plants.
plant_fiend
San Jose, CA
(Zone 9b)

January 14, 2006
6:44 AM

Post #1975202

I will be watching this area closely. I really enjoy rich, handmade soaps and I'm ready to give it a try. Has anyone made olive oil soaps or used shea butter? Do you use lye when making these soaps, too? Fun, fun, fun!!

~Angela
gingerlily
Paxton, FL
(Zone 8a)

January 14, 2006
3:00 PM

Post #1975789

Yes, you use lye. I don't know if you can make soap without lye, unless you can somehow do it with some of the natural plants that have soap properties in them. I've only made the old fashion kind using lard or tallow.
cjolene
Emporia, KS
(Zone 5b)

January 16, 2006
4:26 AM

Post #1980115

I don't know, Angela- could you try it with the melt and pour glycerine cubes? I haven't ventured beyond those. I just needed something that wouldn't flare up an ezcema attack.

Cheryl
gingerlily
Paxton, FL
(Zone 8a)

January 16, 2006
1:40 PM

Post #1980482

Old fashioned lye soap is very good for eczema, I'm told. I have had people tell me that it helped tremendously. I'm sure that would vary from case to case as skin is different from person to person.
IsThisHeaven
Fenton, MO
(Zone 5b)

January 23, 2006
2:00 AM

Post #1994396

Hi, I just saw this forum.

I've been making soaps, lotions, bath bombs and candles for about 10 years.