Lg. pots to put in your garden

Clermont, FL(Zone 9b)

How full do you fill the pot-------Do you put gravel in frist and then sand, top it off with soil? ---should the plants be allthe same as for watering etc. --please let me know----I am very new to all of this

thank you chialea

Fritch, TX(Zone 6b)

i don't know, but a good place to get an answer would be the container gardening forum.
click Garden Talk above to find it...

happy gardening!
tf

Denver, CO

Don't put gravel in the bottom; believe it or not, it actaully reduces drainage with a lower capillary attraction.
Happy Gardening!
K. James

Baltimore, MD(Zone 7a)

ChiaLea,

Gravel, sand and stone weigh a ton!!!!!!

Here's some things to consider:

1. Will you be moving these pots from one place to another--ever?
2. Will you be repotting/digging up things in them every year?
3. How BIG a pot is BIG in your mind? 14"? 20"? 24"? More?
4. Will they be where winds are hard and may blow them over?

It would also depend on what you plant in them. Some plants catch the wind like parachutes. Some do not. Like--if you have a Brugmansia in a pot above ground, I can tell you that it won't take a lot to blow it over. Huge leaves and a bushy height are big wind-catchers. I had 4 cinder blocks around mine, and they still blew over!
Of course--I had those big, foam pots that look like clay, and even thought hey were filled with soil all the way down, they still would blow over! The weight of the pot itself is, obviously, a big factor. If you use really HUGE clay or ceramic pots, they will stay put............hopefully...........

If you plant shrubs or small trees in them, remember--you may want to rotate them so they grow evenly all around. Keeping them on some kind of a wheeled dolly may help in this case.

IF you are not going to have to lift them and move them, then you can fill them up with soil, with a layer of something more pourous in the bottom for drainage.