-
AuthorContent
bigred
Ashdown, AR
(Zone 8a)

February 11, 2006
11:55 AM

Post #2037078

I'm fairly new to growing trees and shrubs from seed ...only about 3 years now.

I am happy to report the following shrub/trees are sprouting:

red osier dogwood
native dogwood
buttonbush
smoke tree
amur maple
styrax americana
Anitabryk2
Long Island, NY
(Zone 6b)

February 11, 2006
12:01 PM

Post #2037084

Way to go!!! How many of each did you sow?
bigred
Ashdown, AR
(Zone 8a)

February 11, 2006
12:10 PM

Post #2037099

apx 36-72 or more for some that I harvest seeds from my trees and shrubs.

P
Anitabryk2
Long Island, NY
(Zone 6b)

February 11, 2006
12:11 PM

Post #2037100

wow - where are you going to plant them?
bigred
Ashdown, AR
(Zone 8a)

February 11, 2006
12:35 PM

Post #2037155

oh...and I forgot...my parsely hawthorne is sprouting.

I was going to use them for city woodland walk project but city beautification committee put the project on the back burner in favor of gouging old downtown's merchants for more money for flags they(committee)ordered...but that's a whole 'nother rant and needless to say...I will withdraw any assistance I offered for woodland walk...whoops...I'm ranting...LOL

P
soulgardenlove
Marietta, GA
(Zone 7b)

February 12, 2006
7:01 PM

Post #2040519

wow, thanks for sharing about your germintaion. :)

Susan
bigred
Ashdown, AR
(Zone 8a)

February 13, 2006
11:26 AM

Post #2041851

I've learned over the few years of growing shrubs and trees not to try to skip any of the pre-chilling,stratifications or any steps for germination so I have frig full of seeds in vermucilte in baggies and a boxfull above my light bench for the ones that need a warm spell first,w/ all info writen on the baggies as to when they went in when they need to be switched to warm strat and when to be planted out. I have some success with winter sewing outdoors but some of the seeds are purchased and not cheaply so I don't want anything happening to them.