Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Winter Sowing: What is the difference?

Communities > Forums > Winter Sowing
bookmark
Forum: Winter SowingReplies: 11, Views: 7
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
YardenMan
Westerville, OH
(Zone 6a)

February 16, 2006
12:27 AM

Post #2047514

This is my first year of winter sowing, so this may be a silly question, but ... why aren't we putting these seeds directly in the soil in our flower beds rather than fussing around with all these containers and debating whether to cover the containers or not? What are the benefits of going to the trouble of sewing the seeds in these containers and then putting the containers outside?
missgarney
Cullowhee, NC
(Zone 6b)

February 16, 2006
1:28 AM

Post #2047683

Well, I'm no expert, but...
Gardening is all about improving the odds for plants to survive and flourish. In nature, plants produce gazillions of seeds because the chances that an individual seed will actually germinate, survive seedlinghood, and grow to become a mature plant, is really very small. Wintersowing in containers is simply a way of improving the odds for these seeds. Outside the containers, they will be subject to
-greater fluctuations of temperature and moisture
-animals that might like to eat them or just accidentally dig them up or stomp them as seedlings
-molds, slimes, etc.!
Anitabryk2
Long Island, NY
(Zone 6b)

February 16, 2006
3:12 AM

Post #2047938

I would agree with you Miss - also, they can then be placed where we really want them. They might migrate due to the elements, like rain
soulgardenlove
Marietta, GA
(Zone 7b)

February 16, 2006
3:14 AM

Post #2047943

I agree-- greatly improves the odds.

or people (myself) that have never grown them before and don't know them from a weed and pull them up...