Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Tropical Plants: Growing Cannas in Containers

Communities > Forums > Tropical Plants
bookmark
Forum: Tropical PlantsReplies: 2, Views: 9
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
sedum37
Westford, MA
(Zone 5b)

March 7, 2006
2:35 PM

Post #2093017

I am new to growing cannas from the rhizomes. This year I am planning to grow in containers:

- 3 'Firebird'
- 1 Madame Paul Caseneuve

My questions:
Since I am zone 5, my last frost date is usually late May. So if I get my canna rhizomes in late April/early May can I pot them in smaller pots and get them going inside earlier? Then later in May put them out into their final larger container? I guess I am asking if they mind having their roots disturbed or not.

Also since these are considered dwarf cannas, does anyone have a suggestion of ultimate pot size? Is 18" too small? Can I plant other things in the larger pot?

Anyone have the Canna book by Timber Press? Is it worth getting?

Thanks
Sue
bwilliams
Louisville, KY

March 7, 2006
3:24 PM

Post #2093137

I would suggest growing them out in 1 gallon size pots first this will give them a head start. When removing them if grown well the roots will stay together and should not cause much stress if any to the plants. As for container size the larger the better and the more you can put in it. I keep tons of cannas in 1 gallon pots all summer with no problem provided I water them regularly. 10 gallons do well and larger. I would suggest coleus and sweet potatoe vine for adding to the pot but other annuals do great to.

The book is well worth it.
sedum37
Westford, MA
(Zone 5b)

March 7, 2006
4:49 PM

Post #2093328