Thumbnail by RichSwanner
Click the image for an enlarged view.

azreno
Mesa, AZ
(Zone 9b)

March 10, 2006
12:45 PM

Post #2101116

Well, that's a real nice photo. Did you get a look at the belly? Is this photo right side up? Females will be belly up and usually have the red hourglass. FWIK, male can have the red hourglass or some colored bands on the abdomen. Looks like your guy (girl) has some colored bands on it's back. A black widow has a solid colored back, doesn't it?

I'm not an expert by any means and have exhausted my extensive knowledge of spiders :-) Hope someone else knows! I hate spiders, but that really is a good photo, nice job!
RichSwanner
Citrus Heights, CA
(Zone 9b)

March 10, 2006
2:24 PM

Post #2101357

This is an immature one. It was upside down. I think this is the same spider a month ago, she is very shy and hard to shoot, a couple of flashes and bye-bye.-Rich

Thumbnail by RichSwanner

GroundUp
Port Saint Lucie, FL
(Zone 9b)

March 10, 2006
3:36 PM

Post #2101533

What you have is a southern black widow. Here is a link. The hour glass is a "dead" (no pun intended) give away.

http://woodypest.ifas.ufl.edu/blwidow.htm

trackinsand

trackinsand
mid central, FL
(Zone 9a)

March 10, 2006
4:05 PM

Post #2101634

the bite is extremely painful (not during, but after). i cannot stress enough how sick you become. i had the unfortunate experience several years ago. if it is in an out of the way place, fine, i don't condone killing everything willy-nilly, but if there is a chance you could be bitten, either re-locate it or kill it. i walked with a cane for 2 wks. after the bite, but the 24 hr. period after it, well, i've never been in so much pain or been so sick. debi
kennedyh
Churchill, Victoria
Australia
(Zone 10a)

March 10, 2006
6:59 PM

Post #2102125

I am sorry Rich, but I am not sure that your spider is a Black Widow. I have looked carefully at all the pictures in Bug Guide (4 pages of them) http://bugguide.net/node/view/1999/bgimage