Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Daylilies: What do I do with the day lilies now?

Communities > Forums > Daylilies
bookmark
Forum: DayliliesReplies: 12, Views: 1,280
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
JSS
Cordova, MD

July 13, 2001
6:38 PM

Post #8410

Hi! I'm new to this web site and just LOVE it!
Also new to computer use and even gardening!
This is my question I hope someone can help me with.
I moved into our house last fall and this spring-
loads of beautiful orange day lilies bloomed! There must be at least 50-75 of them!
Gorgeous! ( I'm a big rose fan myself- already have gone bananas and have planted over 15 bushes!)
But, now that the lilies have bloomed- what do you do with the stems that are still there, and the plants themselves?
My husband wants to MOW them down until next year...but I said NO! Let me check with the experts on this website! they'll know!!! Can anyone tell me what to do to pretty them up or what? Thanks!
Jeanne
puttyrat
Powhatan, VA
(Zone 6b)

July 13, 2001
11:23 PM

Post #94189

Hi Jeannesuesmith,

The daylilies need their foliage to make food that is stored in the roots for next year. However if these are the common orange daylilies that grow on the side of the road it probably would not hurt to cut them back once. I wouldn't cut them back too far however. Maybe to about 6-8 inches. The foliage will grow back.

puttyrat
KittieSue
Anderson, SC
(Zone 7a)

July 14, 2001
2:24 AM

Post #94258