Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Poultry and Livestock: need suggestions about fowl for garden

Communities > Forums > Poultry and Livestock
bookmark
Forum: Poultry and LivestockReplies: 1, Views: 10
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
xdogladyx
Bath, PA

May 3, 2006
6:30 PM

Post #2245291

I'm new to Dave's Garden. My front yard,100 feet by 80 feet is all garden, pond, trees, no fence. No grass, except for the fancy stuff. I thought about letting a chicken, goose, something, live there to eat the bugs, slugs. This is a semi-rural area, if there is such, with a field across the street. A local farmer said chickens would get run over. My hubby said what would we do during winter, zone 5.5. I'm afraid something would eat them, coyotes , neighbors. Any ideas?
TamaraFaye
Fritch, TX
(Zone 6b)

May 4, 2006
12:04 AM

Post #2246164

i think a goose might fly away, ducks are MESSY, and the chickens will also scratch it up something terrible.

i would recommend guineas. if you don't care to build a simple shelter for them to winter over in, they won't have the freezing problem that chickens have [except ice storms can be difficult for them]. they would roost in a nearby tree. but they would be prone to getting eaten by owls, hawks, etc at night... i bet hubby could build a guinea house cheaply enough, and there is a great book i recommend [i should just by them by the case load HAHA] called "Gardening with Guineas"

Guineas are a joy, plus eat ticks too! you won't have to collect eggs, cause they will lay them out in the field, and won't likely hatch them. you may have to replace your flock every three years if you don't house them properly, but you won't have to feed them much.