AuthorContent
wallaby1
Lincoln
United Kingdom
(Zone 8a)

May 23, 2006
1:12 PM

Post #2308720

Thank you! Time to go out and tend to them, sun shining, back later!
pinkpoodlegirl
Rock Hill, SC
(Zone 7b)

May 23, 2006
1:40 PM

Post #2308809

Yeahhh! Love the look of ferns...they go great with the hostas. I am new to ferns but know there are lots of experts on DG who are very willing to share their knowledge with the likes of me and other newbies.

Brenda~
GardenGeek_WI
Central, WI
(Zone 4a)

May 23, 2006
1:58 PM

Post #2308862

Same here Brenda, I had a few ferns that got out of hand, so I'll be picking brains here for Ferns that stay in a clump and don't spread by underground runners. I think I have my first thread,,,LOL

Kelly

wallaby1
Lincoln
United Kingdom
(Zone 8a)

May 23, 2006
7:12 PM

Post #2309904

I had a pic to post to celebrate earlier, but I was so excited about the Fern forum, then the sun was shining beautifully, I think I got the wrong place! It asked me to put in the heading (it would being a thread wouldn't it!) and I lost the pic. So here is my spore grown tree fern from last year, much bigger this year but getting too tall to get a bird's eye view, I may have to put them outside!

Thumbnail by wallaby1
Click the image for an enlarged view.

GardenGeek_WI
Central, WI
(Zone 4a)

May 23, 2006
7:21 PM

Post #2309923

wal,

Very cool pic.
patischell
Fort Pierce, FL
(Zone 10a)

May 23, 2006
9:18 PM

Post #2310259

Wallaby, can you post a picture of it from the side? The fronds look a lot like my tree fern...have no idea what it's name is. Mine is in my shade garden and must be watered every day so the soil never gets dry.
Pati
wallaby1
Lincoln
United Kingdom
(Zone 8a)

May 23, 2006
9:46 PM

Post #2310333