Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Perennials: Purple Coneflower (echinacea) wilting in sun

Communities > Forums > Perennials
bookmark
Forum: PerennialsReplies: 7, Views: 16
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
landerq
Alexandria, VA

May 30, 2006
5:03 PM

Post #2331729

Hi. I'm new to this wonderful site and am very excited to receive all this priceless info. I searched and did not find this answered.

I have clay soil but with good garden soil added to my purple coneflowers which were planted as 1 1/2 ft. plants last year while in flower in early July. I dug a rather big hole and added the garden soil and fertilizer to my two plants. They've come up beautifully this year and are now 2 feet tall and bushy and have big buds, but whenever the midday sun hits they wilt like crazy. They get full sun from 11:00am to 6pm. It is very hot and humid here in Virginia, US. As soon as the sun is off of them, they perk right up.

I figured they needed more water, so I've watered quite a bit. After looking through this site yesterday, I think that I should let them dry up a bit. No black spots on the leaves or signs of rot. Any ideas as to why they wilt the way they do? Anything I can do to make them "act right?" Thanks very much.
dmj1218
west Houston, TX
(Zone 9a)

May 30, 2006
6:08 PM

Post #2331987

They often wilt over for me in late, hot afternoons. Don't they perk up when it gets cooler in late afternoon near sunset?
Debbie
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

May 30, 2006
8:05 PM

Post #2332351