HELP, MY ELEPHANT EARS ARE DYING!

Delray Beach, FL(Zone 10a)

Hello, everyone.

My favorite plants (elephant ears) are dying. I am just plain at wit's end.

The new leaves come out and a few weeks later, they yellow and need to be cut away. This process of yellowing and being cut away happens faster than the rate at which the new leaves are being produced. In a few weeks, there will be nothing but roots left. I have applied ironite lightly 2 weeks ago, then a bit more a week ago. It didn't work. The plants are sitting in a well-drained bed with full sun from sunrise to about 3PM. Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Sylvain.

Thumbnail by lourspolaire
Everglades, FL(Zone 10a)

Hello Sylvain,
I lived in your area until recently and I found NEGLECT the EE's and they do their best.
I am far from an expert but your EE's look like a water variety that we have in a pond.
I can send you the normal ol' dirt variety if you would like some.

PS- Manure is my secret to success.

Thanks, Cyberageous.
Barring anything else and following your learned recommendation, I'm going to try neglect as a treatment because nothing else works.

I don't have any decomposed manure and what Home Depot and Lowe's have is mostly sawdust. My friend used to keep me well supplied in chicken droppings while I lived in Montreal. The neighbours didn't really appreciate but the garden loved it. No such luck here.

Take good care.
Sylvain.

Jacksonville, FL(Zone 8b)