Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beekeeping: Dead Bees

Communities > Forums > Beekeeping
bookmark
Forum: BeekeepingReplies: 17, Views: 285
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
countryfarms
Millsboro, DE

June 30, 2006
4:00 PM

Post #2451264

I am fairly new to bee keeping and have only 4 hives. 3 of the hives are doing well and I see many bees coming and going all the time. The forth hive has much fewer bees coming and going, and I notice quite a few dead bees on the landing and on the ground in front of the hive. Help me understand what can be going wrong with this hive. Thanks.
philomel
Castelnau RB Pyrenée
France
(Zone 8a)

July 1, 2006
3:35 PM

Post #2454518

I don't keep bees and so have no experience, but I understand that bees can suffer from various parasites and other problems. I think you will need to examine the inside of the hive to find out whether they have fallen prey to veroa mites or any of the other nasties.
Good luck - I hope you can cure the problem
mick666
Sydney
Australia

July 9, 2006
6:28 AM

Post #2484697

To Countryfarms. Check your hives and make sure there are no nasties on board. If you are certain of this and you just have a weak hive, you can exchange positions with a strong hive and put the strong hive where the weak one was. Do this at night and only after blocking the entrances of each hive until after the change.
What will happen is that the workers of the strong hive will come back to the position of their former hive, thus strengthening the weak one. The bees won't fight when a new bee tries to enter the hive as the new bee will be loaded with nectar or pollen etc. After a short while the new bees will acquire the smell of their new hive and all will live happy ever after.
jjpm74
Stratford, CT
(Zone 6b)

February 23, 2007
5:37 PM

Post #3217804