Photo by Melody

Japanese Maples: Can you tell me what kind this is?

Communities > Forums > Japanese Maples
bookmark
Forum: Japanese MaplesReplies: 23, Views: 360
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
nikki_conway
Ellicott City, MD
(Zone 7a)

July 1, 2006
4:27 PM

Post #2454696

I got this Jap maple a few weeks ago, and just planted it. Does anyone know what kind it is. I have a small blood good and the leaves are larger.

Thumbnail by nikki_conway
Click the image for an enlarged view.

nikki_conway
Ellicott City, MD
(Zone 7a)

July 1, 2006
4:27 PM

Post #2454701

Here's the top of the leaf...

nikki_conway
Ellicott City, MD
(Zone 7a)

July 1, 2006
4:28 PM

Post #2454707

Here's the under side...

nikki_conway
Ellicott City, MD
(Zone 7a)

July 2, 2006
5:02 PM

Post #2458399

Does anyone think it could be Shojo Homura??
largosmom
Newport News, VA
(Zone 7b)

July 2, 2006
5:35 PM

Post #2458483

I am certainly in the dark on this one! I'm still a newbie...but thought you might like to know you aren't being ignored.

Laura
Davidsan
Springfield, IL
(Zone 6a)

July 2, 2006
5:58 PM

Post #2458587

" I have a small blood good and the leaves are larger. "

I assume you mean these leaves on this tree are larger than your bloodgood??? unclear sentence...let us know...is it grafted???can't tell from pic ...if not it is most likely just a seedling tree with no pedigree where did you buy it ..a big box store?? David
nikki_conway
Ellicott City, MD
(Zone 7a)

July 2, 2006
7:03 PM

Post #2458843

Thanks for the replies... Here's the comparison... The unknown's leaves thinner. The bloodgood's are fuller. The unknown is a little larger overall.

nikki_conway
Ellicott City, MD
(Zone 7a)

July 2, 2006
7:06 PM

Post #2458852

It was a gift and it's not grafted as far as I know.

nikki_conway
Ellicott City, MD
(Zone 7a)

July 2, 2006
7:08 PM

Post #2458860

1st picture unknown, this is the bloodgood.

Davidsan
Springfield, IL
(Zone 6a)

July 2, 2006
7:20 PM

Post #2458897