-
AuthorContent
TXSWETIE
Big Lake, TX
(Zone 8a)

July 13, 2006
3:50 PM

Post #2501291

I know this has been asked al lot but I'm going to ask again. I have lots of questions for ya'll.

I'm a novice gardener still, But i live in this tinny town with about 3000 people.
The closest town is 70 miles away. We don't have a nursery here or any other place to buy plants. So i have decided i want to open one in my back yard.
Where i live I'm zoned residential, but i have gone to the City council meeting and was granted a variance to open one here at the house.
I was all excited about it but now I'm scared to death LOL and i know its because I'm still a novice gardener. But with the scale of the nursery i think I'm going to do fine. I don't plan on opening till March 2008.

I want to know where i need to start. Now that i got all the legal stuff out of the way what should i be working on now. We are going to build at 25 x 35 workshop, and i will use the old shed that is 10 x 14 for my shop. I'm not sure the size of green house we are going to build.
Also where do ya'll get the pots?
Where do you get the soil? do you buy it by the bag or what?
What about watering systems? do you hand water or is a watering system pricey and can come at a later time?
I'm not sure what I'm going to sell. I know there will be veggies, herbs, vines, ect. I have had people ask if i will sell TX natives, and vines. They have asked for easy annual vines that you cant buy cause they are so easy to grow from seed. But a lot of people don't want to take the time to grow them from seed.

I wanted to start small but people i have talked to are very excited about it and I'm so scared I'm going to get whipped out the first week.

Any and all tips would help a lot. Man writing this has made me sound like i don't have a clue, I know its just the jitters that has started to set in LOL.