-
AuthorContent
SwarmCatcher
Mathias, WV
(Zone 7a)

July 16, 2006
12:23 PM

Post #2511340

I have been keeping bee for over 15 years...An I still don't know everything...Here are two good places to learn...I just though that I would past these links along.

http://www.beemaster.com/beebbs/

http://www.beesource.com/cgi-bin/ubbcgi/ultimatebb.cgi

Hope you all enjoy...
Have a great Day an God Bless

James
philomel
Castelnau RB Pyrenée
France
(Zone 8a)

August 26, 2006
7:24 PM

Post #2661946

Thanks very much for the great links James. Havent checked in this forum for a while, so they were a lovely surprise
levilyla
Baltimore, MD
(Zone 7a)

November 25, 2006
10:01 PM

Post #2943627

I am just considering starting to have a honey bee hive...I went to a lecture on it and was fascinated. Those links will be very helpful as I know absolutely nothing (except what I learned from the lecture). I have a shade garden and am wondering if anyone has ever had a hive in the shade.
Pranter
Greenfield, MO
(Zone 6a)

November 26, 2006
8:08 PM

Post #2945693

My bees are in partial shade and do just fine. I know other beekeepers who have hives in shade and they seem to do fine as well. It makes sense to me, afterall if they have hives in the wood areas they would be mostly in shade.

levilyla
Baltimore, MD
(Zone 7a)

November 27, 2006
11:12 AM

Post #2947082

Thanks...I have alot of reading to do before I start anything but I think it will be fun.
sudhira
Aptos, CA

April 16, 2007
10:26 AM

Post #3397289

Thank you for the information, I will definitely check it out...

This message was edited Apr 16, 2007 7:44 AM
The_Advocate
Largo, FL

March 31, 2008
5:58 AM

Post #4733934

When placing a hive it is important to remember the more sun on the hive the harder they have to work to keep the hive cool, hence a shorter, less productive lifespan. They don't live that long anyway. Do them and yourself a favor and keep your hives out of the sun or @ least shelterd from the sun.