Beanblossom

Nilwood, IL(Zone 5b)

Looking for anyone who is researching the Beanblossom name and info on Samual P. Hay's book.

Audubon, PA(Zone 6b)

Don't know anything about the name except.... I LOVE it!!!!
Origin???

LarryD

Nilwood, IL(Zone 5b)

Came from the name Bonhemblust which is Swiss-German.

Audubon, PA(Zone 6b)

No wonder they changed it. ... (( NO disrespect intended)). I like Beanblossom much better.. DO WISH you luck in your quest...
I've been researching my families since 1955.... the job never ends.... sometimes frustrating, but also rewarding!!

Thanks very much for the reply!! At least I learned something from it.

LarryD

Nilwood, IL(Zone 5b)

Beanblossom came from the German-Swiss name Bonhemblust

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

We have Beanblossoms in our lines....from Indiana. Mom has the info,as we don't have them in our direct line, so they're not in my book...but the Beanblossom/Faith lines have been mentioned in some of our old records.

I'll get her to either post here..(she's YoYo1 here at DG) or, I'll be back in a day or two with the info.

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

Ok, Mom does not have the Hays book at the house, but here is some info that will help.

Washington, Indiana around 1817
Harrison County ,IN.
(Washington may be in Harrison County..not sure)

Our lines..(the Faiths) came from PA down the Ohio River between 1775 and 1790..(brothers trekking at different times) Some settled in KY and others in IN.

Betty J. O'Dea , Loyce Margaret Smith Robbins, and Victor A. Young have all researched our Indiana lines...and we intermingle with Beanblossom folk quite a bit.

I would contact the Historical Society in Harrison Co.....they have a nice one, as President William Henry Harrison was from the area. You may get some leads that way..

Also, there's a line of acoustic instruments...guitars and mandolins that bear the Beanblossom name, but I'm not sure if there's any connection...(I think they are Asian made)