AuthorContent

palmbob

palmbob
Acton, CA
(Zone 8b)

July 31, 2006
4:32 AM

Post #2569410

My yard is full of 'bugs'. However, I am NOT an expert on identifying insects and arachnids, at least down the the species level. How can we get our 'bugs' identified accurately before entering them incorrectly into the system? With plants, there are enough 'experts' out there to catch most of our errors, but as this is not a bug site, I am not as certain this would be the case. Do we have enough bug experts? Who's our 'quality control'? For example, I have a lot of great Preying Mantis photos.. but just because I live in California, does that mean my mantids are California Mantids? I have no way of telling. I am not counting setae or mouth parts to distinguish this from a Carolina mantid. Or is there a difference worth worrying about? I see there are a lot of bugs being entered into the ID site. Maybe that would be a good way to go before entering them on this one?
Scorpioangel
Gold Hill, OR
(Zone 7a)

July 31, 2006
3:04 PM

Post #2570415

palmbob,

Here are some links that I use to help id the vast array of bugs I find. Even the 'experts' have problems identifing down to species, but at least you can find out what genus they belong to.

What's That Bug website http://whatsthatbug.com/
Bugguide website http://bugguide.net/node/view/15740
Enature website http://www.enature.com/home/
Insect identification for the casual observer http://www.insectidentification.org/
Hope this will help id a few more 'bugs'

DebiV

This message was edited Jul 31, 2006 8:19 AM

melody

melody
Benton, KY
(Zone 7a)

July 31, 2006
6:23 PM

Post #2571158

I've got tons of bug images and there's quite a few that will just have to wait...I'm taking more pictures and storing them, but only entering the ones that I'm confident about.