Photo by Melody

Mid-South Gardening: Chicken Tails (Tales) Anyone? Chicken Feed for thought..

Communities > Forums > Mid-South Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Mid-South GardeningReplies: 33, Views: 150
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
podster
Deep East Texas, TX
(Zone 8a)

August 23, 2006
2:22 AM

Post #2649833

The other night, picabo posted a classic chicken story and got me to thinking about my past experiences with chickens. You may have read it already but I began to wonder if anyone else had tales to share.

Many years ago DH and I moved with our children to the little farm where I live today. I was a city girl from Nashville and he was a country boy from NC. He taught me the ways of the country and I taught him the ways of the city. I have had a lot of wonderful experiences in the 40 years that I have lived here.

One of my favorites started with a trip to the feed store. They were selling baby chicks. I had never seen baby chicks except for the pink, blue and green ones that you could buy at Easter at every store that you went into. These little chicks were black. So I brought home a box full.

At the time I raised and showed little Shih Tzu dogs. When the chicks grew up they roosted in a tree that had limbs that hung over the kennel where the little dogs went out to exercise. Now you have to picture the little dogs. They were not much bigger than the chickens. Some with the long coat of a show dog. When the chickens would fly out of the tree in the morning once in a while one would miss the fence and land in the kennel. Much barking and squawking would go on before the chicken would hop out of the fence and be on its way.