AuthorContent
Illoquin
Indianapolis, IN
(Zone 5b)

August 25, 2006
12:40 PM

Post #2657704

Hi all --

I am new to DG and especilly to this forum. We have some lime deposits in our hot water pipes that restrict the flow of hot water. Is there a homeowner remedy ? Can a plumber fix it without ripping up my pipes? No, we don't have a water softener.

Thanks for any help you can give me,
Suzy
PudgyMudpies

(Zone 9a)

September 5, 2006
2:39 AM

Post #2692293

Shoot, I sure wish someone had some experience with this! I googled Lime Remover for Hot Water Pipes and found this:
http://www.greatinspector.com/faq-plum-lime-htwtr.html
I know when I get hard water buildup in my showerhead, I soak it in vinegar and I also run vinegar through my coffee maker to remove deposits, so this sounds like a similar thing. I have no idea if this will work, but if you decide it is something you want to try, I sure hope you post and let us all know if it works for you.
And Welcome to Daves!!! :~)
Donna
Illoquin
Indianapolis, IN
(Zone 5b)

September 5, 2006
2:43 AM

Post #2692314

I as just talking to my husband about this very idea...and he said th hot water heater is self-enclosed. Sounds kinda scary to me! (Removing anode tube) but I bet he could do it!

Thank you Donna!

Suzy
PudgyMudpies

(Zone 9a)

September 5, 2006
2:48 AM

Post #2692331

LOL, brilliant minds think alike. It was nice that there were step by step instructions on there, no idea if it is the same type of heater as yours, but if your DH does do it, I sure hope it solves your problem. Then maybe you can do it on a regular basis as a preventative thing! That would be great to not have to pay a plumber, would'nt it? :~)
Best of luck Suzy.
Illoquin
Indianapolis, IN
(Zone 5b)

September 5, 2006
1:26 PM

Post #2693389

Dh says we can do it!!! Thanks! :)

Suzy
PudgyMudpies

(Zone 9a)

September 5, 2006
3:01 PM

Post #2693680

yippieeeee!!!! Please post when its done so we know if it works. Best of luck! :~)
Illoquin