Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Aroids: Do Aroids seed?

Communities > Forums > Aroids
bookmark
Forum: AroidsReplies: 7, Views: 84
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
capt_insano
Wichita, KS
(Zone 6a)

August 30, 2006
1:10 AM

Post #2673312

total noob question here, but do Aroids seed? If they do, would it be reasonable to assume that they could seed and germinate outside in Kansas? I found a very Aroid-looking plant growing in my backyard bed while I was weeding. They almost got pulled with the weeds because they were so small, but then I noticed that they had a very aroid shape, but there is nothing that looks like them where I found them (though I do have about 4 types of elephant ears growing in the same bed)

This is what I found (I dug them up and put them in some pots - on the left of the photo)

Thumbnail by capt_insano
Click the image for an enlarged view.

capt_insano
Wichita, KS
(Zone 6a)

August 30, 2006
1:10 AM

Post #2673315

closeup pic

Thumbnail by capt_insano
Click the image for an enlarged view.

LindaSC
Columbia, SC
(Zone 8a)

August 30, 2006
1:30 AM

Post #2673371

Well, look at that. Yes, Alocasia grow from seed, that's how Brian gets all of his good crosses. Certainly look like EEs to me.
capt_insano
Wichita, KS
(Zone 6a)

August 30, 2006
2:32 AM

Post #2673571

what kind does it look like? I have Metallic Taro, regular ol' elephant ears, and alocasia macrorhiza growing nearby. Nothing out back has flowered, but the metallic taro in my front yard did this year
LindaSC
Columbia, SC
(Zone 8a)

August 30, 2006
3:19 PM

Post #2675132

I don't know anything about them, maybe Brian will see your post.
bwilliams
Louisville, KY

August 30, 2006
3:49 PM

Post #2675257