Photo by Melody

Winter Sowing: Warms temps and wintersowing - should we wait?

Communities > Forums > Winter Sowing
bookmark
Forum: Winter SowingReplies: 66, Views: 657
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
kbaumle
Northwest, OH
(Zone 5b)

January 2, 2007
1:56 PM

Post #3045225

This will be my second year of wintersowing and I enjoyed about a 50% success last winter. I wasn't sure if I would do it again, but of course, I am! LOL. Last year, I think I planted right around New Year's, but I'm holding off this year, due to the warm temps we've had. With weather in the 50s consistently, I was afraid to start things, for fear they'd germinate and then be lost when the really cold weather came. This is not normal weather for us, but there it is, just the same.

Am I right in waiting until it gets really cold before planting and setting them out?
netwiz
York, PA

January 2, 2007
2:37 PM

Post #3045349

This is my first year for winter sowing but I plan to plant out the things that need cold stratification or warm/cold/warm to germinate. There wouldn't be any fear of early germination due to the warmer temps and the seeds will still benefit from the fluctuating temps they need. Just my 2 cents.

Joanne
DebinSC
Georgetown, SC
(Zone 8a)

January 2, 2007
4:01 PM

Post #3045658

kbaumle: I went ahead and sowed on New Year's. And it's been 70* here! I'd echo what Netwiz said. Couldn't hurt. Even if it's warm, the days are still short, nights are cool, and as long as the containers stay moist enough, you'll still have a head start on outside sowing. So, why not? Of course, I'm not anything near expert on this, since I'm totally new to this myself. So...for what it's worth? :)
Deb
kbaumle
Northwest, OH
(Zone 5b)

January 2, 2007
4:30 PM

Post #3045776

All righty then! I got my milk jugs ready to go several weeks ago, so now I just need to decide what I'm planting. :-)
enya_34
Madison, WI

January 2, 2007
4:37 PM

Post #3045807