Microwave Flower Press??

Northeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Anyone know where to purchase one of these?? and Does anyone have any positive experiences using them.They look really nifty. I stumbled onto a site that had them awhile back but can't for the life of me remember what site it was now.Old age really setting in I guess !LOL
Thanks! Nancy

North Saanich, Canada

Hi Nancy. I have never used these before, but remembered seeing them on the Lee Valley website. Here's the link:

http://www.leevalley.com/garden/page.aspx?c=1&p=10208&cat=2,50560

Glenda

Northeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Thank You Glenda! Thats not exactly like the one I saw but oh it looks like a really good one! Much nicer than the plastic one.Thanks for your help!
Nancy

North Saanich, Canada

Glad to help. Lee Valley Products are very good. We have never had a problem with anything we ordered from them.

(Taylor) Plano, TX(Zone 8a)

Gardenridge has microwae silica kits. You put your flowers into the silica and then microwave.
I like them because you can preserve the flower in it's natural shape, instead of flat...
-T

Yorkshire,

Hi Nancy!
Would you be interested in learning how to dry flowers in a microwave without using anything very expensive? If so, send me a dmail. I've dried hundreds of different flowers using my own method (which works fairly well). I use them for cardmaking and bookmarks and they're really pretty.

Terri

Terri-
Please post it here for all of us to see?
-T

Yorkshire,

Hi Seedpicker (and anyone else who might be interested).
This is how I dry my flowers using a microwave.

First of all I would NEVER allow children to do this unsupervised because it can generate a lot of hot steam, so care should be taken at all times.

Take 2 squares of corrugated cardboard about 7 inches square (or depending on the size of your microwave, it needs to be able to rotate.)