New Free genealogy program geni.com

Clay Center, KS(Zone 5b)

I just read a review of new free genelogy program that sounds ideal for beginners. There is a review of it at the following
http://www.webware.com/8301-1_109-9678187-2.html?tag=nl.e776 or go to http://geni.com.
Has anybody used it? It doesn't seem to have the advanced features like some programs, but it seems to provide a way for beginners to round up the basic information to start with.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

Thanks for this info. My brother and I have been working on family histories for several years and are well along but aware we'll never find it all. We have friends who want to begin their own searches but are intimidated by the challenge. I'll suggest this as a starting point.

Franklin Grove, IL(Zone 5a)

FYI - I was trying to figure out how they make money. It's free. Your information is password protected.Then I looked at the Geni terms of use. It states in part "By publishing, displaying, or uploading (collectively, "Posting") any Content on or to the Geni Website (including on or to your profile), you automatically grant, and you represent and warrant that you have the right to grant, to Geni an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, fully paid, worldwide license to use, copy, perform, display, and distribute such Content and to prepare derivative works of, or incorporate into other works, such Content, and to grant and authorize sublicenses of the foregoing."
I don't know what all that entitles them to do with your information - but decided not to persue it any further.

Moxee, WA(Zone 4a)

GreenatHeart, I joined DG a while back but have never ventured into the Genealogy forum here because of the lack of my personal genealogy interest. My grmom passedaway last month at 104 so I've been thinking a lot about it.

Moxee, WA(Zone 4a)