Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Houseplants: anybody enjoy forcing flowers?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Houseplants
bookmark
Forum: Beginner HouseplantsReplies: 28, Views: 353
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
forcingflowers
Grifton, NC
(Zone 7b)

January 29, 2007
5:20 PM

Post #3135247

I am a newbie here and I love to force flowers.My DH thinks we are being overtaken by hyacinths and paperwhites.My hyacinths smell so good in the house.I am working on crocus and more hyacinths.I force mine in water.
Anybody else?
plantladylin
South Daytona, FL
(Zone 9b)

January 29, 2007
6:01 PM

Post #3135355

Forcingflowers: Welcome to Dave's Garden!

I'm pretty much a "Newbie" to DG myself, I just joined in October.

I have forced Paperwhites and Hyacinth's in water over the years. The only flowers I did this year are Amaryllis bulbs. It is a lot of fun to watch bulbs take root, sprout and bloom!

You will LOVE this "Garden" ... so many wonderful people with lots of great information!

Happy Gardening,
Lin

fireant13

(Zone 9a)

January 30, 2007
2:14 AM

Post #3137017

I don't know anything about forcing flowers, but I have a peace plant that has great foliage, but no flowers. It's been over a year since I've seen any. Do you have any suggestions for getting it to produce flower stalks?
gessiegail
Taft, TX
(Zone 9a)

January 30, 2007
2:43 AM

Post #3137093

When I saw your post, i started laughing...during November and December the house was full of amaryllis...now it is paperwhites...I just grow in rocks, a tad bit of soil on the top and lots of water. Look at this one growing in all directions at this point...paperwhites are so easy you can't mess up...i need all the help I can get and this one is easy.
You are the one who knows how to force...amaryllis and paperwhites are all i know