Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Vegetables: Arugula and Rapini

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 5, Views: 59
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
mevnmart
Spiro, OK
(Zone 7a)

February 12, 2007
7:59 PM

Post #3182095

I recently moved to Utah and the grocery stores here are SEVERELY lacking in the produce department (actually, they stink all around). My produce guy has never even heard of rapini (or Broccoli Rabe), and he tried to sell me arugula in a "fresh herb" packet. I wanted a salad! Anyway, I want to grow both, but haven't the foggiest clue about them since I've never tried them before. One lady who overheard me in the store told me I could come pick some arugula at her house because it had overtaken her garden. Is there a good way to contain it so it doesn't consume my yard? Also, what variety of Rapini is the best for eating? My Italian family makes it blanched with olive oil and garlic and then served warm or cold with bread. I was thinking Tuscany, but I'm not sure. I want to plant tomatoes, peppers, peas, carrots, zucchini and maybe watermelon and pumpkin. I haven't done a garden in forever, so I'm fairly clueless. My plan is to start my plants from seed so I can do organic heirlooms, so I'm hoping I can start them at the beginning of March when we get into our house. I've never had much luck with seedlings, so I'm crossing my fingers and reading as much as I can. Any pointers would be welcome. Thanks!
rebecca101
Madison, WI
(Zone 5a)

February 18, 2007
8:02 PM

Post #3202378