AuthorContent
sara_indiana
Indiana, PA
(Zone 5b)

February 13, 2007
3:54 AM

Post #3183746

Hi all,
My hubby and I have spent the winter thinking we killed the 4 hardy hibiscus plants we bought in the fall and planted... 2 days after planting they were wilting and turning yellow. The nursery told us they might just be in "shock." Last month I clipped a branch and it was dead wood. But after coming across this Web site and reading about it in the Plant Files, I have hope again! Is anyone here familiar with this plant, and if so, could you tell me if there could still be hope for this plant even though it appears to have died? I have read in the forum that they "die back to the ground" but I am a total newbie gardener and want to be sure I am understanding that term. If they do die back to the ground, does that mean that the above-ground branches should just be cut off because they will not ever bloom again? The nursery guarantees their plants for only 6 months, which would be April and I am quite sure they will not be growing then since they are late bloomers (and sometimes it's still pretty cold here in April). We were originally planning to dig them up and go get our money back, but now I am not convinced they are dead! Any advice would be welcome - Thank you!
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

February 13, 2007
2:03 PM

Post #3184422