Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Daturas: starting datura inside

Communities > Forums > Daturas
bookmark
Forum: DaturasReplies: 16, Views: 222
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Kassia
Framingham, MA
(Zone 6a)

February 15, 2007
3:35 AM

Post #3190729

Hi, I am new to gardening... last year a dear friend gave me a datura ... and I trully fell in love... I let one pod open outside and left the seeds there... I have been really careful with the place and now there is plenty of snow there... I have some seeds and I want to start some inside... just in case... but regardless I want a border of daturas... so any help on starting them inside would be appreciated!!!!

thanks... I am on zone 6
kareoke
Greensburg, IN
(Zone 6a)

February 15, 2007
1:10 PM

Post #3191330

Hi, I am in Zone 6 also, last year I started some in small peat cups and it worked good, the main thing is they do not like their roots disturbed so by planting the cup the roots are not touched, I also cut the cup down each side when planting.
Heavinscent
South West, LA
(Zone 9a)

February 15, 2007
6:03 PM

Post #3192344

I have had the best luck starting my seeds in the disposable tupperward boxes this year! I have used them for all my plants. I started out with them last winter with my Brugs and Datura. I didnt have a problem transplanting them just scooped the seedlings out with a fork and put them in a 20oz cup. from there I put them in the ground in spring. I had no clue they didn't like their roots disturbed... I'll be more gentle with them this year.

Thumbnail by Heavinscent
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Heavinscent
South West, LA
(Zone 9a)

February 15, 2007
6:04 PM

Post #3192348

Heres a look into the Datura box
Good Luck!
Caren

Thumbnail by Heavinscent

Xeramtheum