Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Gardening Questions: ?? Tender Annuals ??

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 6, Views: 84
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

tcs1366

tcs1366
Leesburg, FL
(Zone 9a)

February 18, 2007
3:40 PM

Post #3201679

OK, this is a total newbie question -- but as im pretty new to all this gardening from seeds stuff...

what qualifies as a Tender Annual?

and how about, differences between tender annuals, tender perennials, etc.
Obviously something Hardy will withstand harsher/colder/frost weather... but again -- I'm a noob.

when i did my lil "google" i did find a list on a site for MN - so it was for zone 3-4... but i'm zone 5a.

i like things to be defined -- and i could not find a list of or description of -- tender annual.

TIA,

terese
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

February 18, 2007
8:18 PM

Post #3202406

I think tender annuals are ones that need to be planted in the spring after last chance of frost. Hardier annuals can be planted the previous fall and then bloom the following year. I think that's what it is at least, but I don't really grow annuals so I'm not positive.
bigcityal
Menasha, WI
(Zone 5a)

February 18, 2007
8:23 PM

Post #3202419

I believe that is right - that tender annuals cannot withstand any frost. Morning glories must be one because they are the first to go here, while other annuals like cosmos or zinnias hang around until a freeze.

tcs1366

tcs1366
Leesburg, FL
(Zone 9a)

February 18, 2007
8:51 PM

Post #3202503

the thing that got me confused (more than usual) was that i was told impatiens were not tender, where here (Chicagoland) they turn to mush at the slightest hint of frost... to me, that is tender.