Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Vegetables: Baby greens

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 5, Views: 69
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
gloryglory
Farmingdale, NY
(Zone 7a)

February 25, 2007
10:48 PM

Post #3224785

Hi! I'm brand new to growing most things and I have just planted a mesclun mix that I bought in a nursery flat as an experiment. I am accustomed to growing wheatgrass and you really load up on seeds for that. Well, wheat seeds are much bigger than greens seeds and I think I put down way too many seeds. Can anyone tell me what is the normal amount of seeds or spacing that should be used for baby greens like you get in the grocery store..ala the baby spinach leaves size? I've just read 1/2 an inch spacing per plant and I believe I've put down about 800 seeds in my little tray so it might be micro greens for me this time??? LOL. Additionally, I want to grow the greens in litter box containers as I have 4 of them that haven't been used. Is the depth of a litter box, 4.5", ok for baby or full grown lettuce/spinach/mesclun or do I need a deeper container. Keeping them watered is no problem. All my growing has to be in containers though, and will never be transplanted outside.

Thanks for any help as I am a doofus. : -)

I've posted this already in the vegetable gardening forum..and then noticed this beginner one so I hope the cross post is ok!

Horseshoe
Efland, NC
(Zone 7a)

February 26, 2007
3:46 PM

Post #3226691

Howdy, gloryglory...

The depth of the litter boxes will most likely work for the mini-greens, and even full-size spinach plants. Full size lettuce plants will need a container of about 6-8 inches deep to support them.