Calling all "judges" for the annual DG County Fair! Vote for your favorites here!

* FYI * potential (new) efficient solar farming: Balloons *

NW Qtr, AR(Zone 6a)

Certainly appears to possess some 'promise' ..

Quoting:
Inflatable mirrors for capturing sunlight could reduce the cost of solar power to 29 cents by 2010, making the solar energy cost competitive with traditional fossil fuels

http://news.mongabay.com/2007/0221-coolearth.html

> http://www.coolearthsolar.com/CoolEarth%20Solar%20Power%202006%20Presentation.pdf

- Magpye

This message was edited Mar 3, 2007 1:15 PM

Josephine, Arlington, TX(Zone 8a)

Very interesting links, I hope they can make it work.

KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)

Same here.

Helena, MT(Zone 4b)

This makes me wish I was an engineer. What a hot idea! Any of you rural dwellers going to get one?

San Francisco Bay Ar, CA(Zone 9b)

The solar balloons are an interesting concept. I hope that we get to see them in action soon. At the same time, I am not so quick to discount the value of solar panels on rooftops. Not sure I agree that solar panels on industrial buildings are difficult to maintain - it would really depend on the building and setup. We need a variety of clean energy modalities to meet our energy needs. Every step we take in this direction helps.
I look forward to following the progress of the Cool Earth Solar group.

Moss Point, MS(Zone 8b)

Bring it on!!! I have 2 acres that I could cover with balloons if it would work. They may not be beautiful but we will always have to sacrifice in some way for energy. I will keep my eyes and ears open on this.

Ida, MI