Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Carolina Gardening: Strawberries are blooming??? Huh?

Communities > Forums > Carolina Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Carolina GardeningReplies: 7, Views: 47
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
yotedog
Raleigh, NC

March 6, 2007
6:44 PM

Post #3254246

My strawberries that I planted last fall are blooming--the leaves have not grown at all and no new growth is sprouting. This is my first time growing strawberries here--should I be picking off these early blooms? Unfortunately, I do not know the variety--I expect them to bear all at once, presumedly in June. Are they confused or is this normal in zone 7b?
Tropicanna
Clemmons, NC
(Zone 7b)

March 6, 2007
6:47 PM

Post #3254252

They might bloom- but I doubt you'll get berries from them this early on.

Sometimes mine bloom early but no fruits until later.
yotedog
Raleigh, NC

March 6, 2007
9:15 PM

Post #3254728

So, if I leave the blooms, does it decrease the amount of blooms/fruit set that I will get? Or should I pull them off...?
Tropicanna
Clemmons, NC
(Zone 7b)

March 6, 2007
9:54 PM

Post #3254866

Someone smarter than me, help, please!LOL
I wonder if I should be picking them off now
amarettonc
Raleigh, NC
(Zone 7b)

March 6, 2007
10:57 PM

Post #3255146

I read that you should pick the blooms off first year strawberry plants so the plants will put all its energy into its roots. This way the plants will last longer, about 4-5 years. If you let the first year plants set fruit, they will not last as long, maybe 3 years, but you do get the fruit one year earlier. I planted some strawberry crowns in January and they are just now starting to grow, but they are nowhere near producing a bloom, that I can tell. These are June bearers, I don't know the variety.