Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Relocating and starting a garden in a totally new climate.

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 5, Views: 71
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
adiav
Beaverton, OR

March 7, 2007
5:30 PM

Post #3257822

Hi everyone,

I'm new to gardening, new to these forums, and new to the climate I now live in. Basically, I could use some (let's not kid ourselves, any and all) help!

I grew up in Sydney, Australia, with a garden full of acacias, murrayas, jasmine, camellias, hibiscus, plumeria, banksias and bottlebrushes and the like. I never really gardened, however, and then moved into an apartment built on top of my old house which only had a balcony, and a very windy/shaded one at that. I then (as in, just 3 days ago) moved to Beaverton, OR, which is far wetter and colder (though right now it's not too bad) than it is back "home". I think it's Zone 6, according to something I read.

So here's the thing: I don't know what I can, or would want to grow here. My boyfriend has given me carte blanche to grow anything I want in the yard, but I don't really know where to start. We have rather clay-y ground I think, and I'm told we're not likely to get frost again this Winter. Our back garden gets sun pretty much all day in some places, and half the day in others.

Can anyone give me some suggestions as to what to grow here? I love things with great colours, and contrasts, and perfumes (I love the look of dahlias, peonies, lilacs, gerberas, tulips, camellias, murraya and plumbago - that kind of thing), and would like to grow some edible things, too. I figured I could start growing some things in pots, and some in the garden itself, too.