Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Evon
South Bend, IN

March 9, 2007
6:29 PM

Post #3264732

I am a beginner at gardening. I am trying to make a layout using the companion planting of:

tomotes, potatoes, zucchini, cumcumbers, peppers, lettuce, garlic, cabbage, broccoli, carrots, onions, radish, strawberries and cranberries. My garden is 15 X 30

Does anybody have any suggestions or layout info I could use?

Thank you,

Evon
nifty413
Garland, TX
(Zone 8a)

March 10, 2007
4:56 AM

Post #3266836

Evon, except for the cranberries, I believe you could easily do the block method that Terry mentions here... http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/695535/ ...lots of good advice in that thread!

I'll defer to someone else to give advice on growing cranberries too. ;-)
prettyhortgirl
Somerville, MA
(Zone 5a)

March 13, 2007
7:16 PM

Post #3277513

I like to do my strawberries in hanging planters, saves on room! :)
Joan
Belfield, ND
(Zone 4a)

March 13, 2007
7:52 PM

Post #3277654

The strawberries are going to put out runners and just keep expanding their area. I would plant them out of the vegetable garden. We ripped up our strawberry patch a few years ago because the grass had grown into it and it was so hard to keep up. The only way was to crawl around on my hands and knees pulling up all the grass. We are going to build a tiered bed and put just strawberries in it. The grass won't be able to take it over if it's up off the ground.

I don't know anything about cranberries either.

The rest of the things you have listed will easily fit in a 15 x 30 plot, depending on how much of each you want to grow.

Since this is your first year, one thing I would suggest is keeping a map each year of where things are planted and rotate the crops so the same crop isn't planted in the same place two years in a row. It's even better to not plant the same crop in the same area for 3-4 years. This will help control any diseases that may occur.