Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Help with Autumn Joy in Zone 5a

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 18, Views: 273
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
atcmadchen
Sharpsville, IN

March 11, 2007
4:39 PM

Post #3270696

I did not cut back my Autumn Joy plants after they bloomed in the fall. When is the right time to prune them, and, how far back should I cut? I also realized that the plants had wide gaps in the middle, and have read that that means I should divide the plant. I've NEVER done anything like that before. I would appreciate any advice you can give me on this plant, as it added so much color to my yard last fall and I want to make sure it continues to thrive.
Crasulady2
Valley Village, CA

March 11, 2007
7:08 PM

Post #3271058

lAll, the way down to the soil after the flowers have dried. About Oct ? They will come back with a vegence. The love the cold weather. The grow more or less like Chrysanthemum Norma
kyjoy
Frankfort, KY

March 12, 2007
12:02 AM

Post #3271772

I don't cut my Autumn Joy (Sedum) back until the new growth begins to show in the spring. The spent flowers turn a bronze color and add color and interest to the winter garden.

This message was edited Mar 11, 2007 8:05 PM
LarissaH
Denton, TX
(Zone 7b)

March 12, 2007
6:04 PM

Post #3273745

I'm like kyjoy, I didn't do anything to them until the new growth in the spring and by then it was so brittle it had "cleaned" most of it's branches by itself and I only had to do a little pulling by hand.
atcmadchen
Sharpsville, IN

March 13, 2007
10:53 AM

Post #3276019

Thank you! Anyone with advice on how to divide them?
LarissaH
Denton, TX
(Zone 7b)

March 13, 2007
9:06 PM

Post #3277895

atcmadchen,