Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Peat Pots

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 7, Views: 115
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
PhlowrsInPhilly
Philadelphia, PA
(Zone 6b)

March 15, 2007
12:28 AM

Post #3282146

hey all- I am starting some planting today, with seeds. I've always just used cell flats or a pan to start seeds in, but this year I got some peat pellets (Just had to complicate what always works for me LOL). My question is pretty basic- do I put one, two or three seeds in each one? I grow a mean garden, but I've never used peat pellets before. Thanks in advance :-)
Samantha
Pinger42
Mooresville, NC
(Zone 7b)

March 15, 2007
4:25 AM

Post #3283098

Hey Samantha...
Don't know the answer but I wish you well with your flowers!
Hope the weather is warming up nicely in Philly...GO EAGLES!!!!!
Pinger

melody

melody
Benton, KY
(Zone 7a)

March 15, 2007
1:16 PM

Post #3283738

Depends on what kind of seeds that you're using...if whatever it is usually germinates well for you, then just use one or two...You'll cut off the extras when they germinate anyway. There should only be one growing seedling per cell.

Some peat pellets have a netting around them to keep everything in place...you'll need to tear it off when you set them out or it will never decompose...ever.

If you've used the cell system in the past and had good success, you're an experienced seed starter and should be able to handle the peat stuff just fine...it's harder to keep mold down and proper hydration in these things though...

I prefer the cells with my own seed starting mix.

Some folks swear by the peat pellets...some swear at them...I'm in the latter group.
klumaro
Parkville, MD

March 15, 2007
1:17 PM

Post #3283742