Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: really really new to this

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 27, Views: 473
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
imedicmommy
O Fallon, MO

March 18, 2007
11:17 PM

Post #3296672

Okay I'm really new to gardening but I have found that I do like it when something I plant grows. I live in a brand new subdivision and have a huge yard but it is mostly clay and I'm not sure what to do with the dirt to make it good for the plants. I've read a couple of books but really what do you all think is the best way to treat the yard, or do you have a resource to point me too. I have a few raised beds that the builder put in that I've been adding too but I'm ready to branch out. Thanks so much!
bigcityal
Menasha, WI
(Zone 5a)

March 19, 2007
11:11 AM

Post #3297641

This is always such a hot topic, so I will be posting what I do.

To improve the soil to have better drainage and workability. I would:
work up the clay when it is dry and work in compost - several types including oraganic mixes,peat moss and composted manure. This will help to create air spaces in the clay. How much? a couple inches of each kind for every foot of clay I would say. I would try to work it up close to 2' deep if possible. For annual beds I would work it up in the spring and fall also. This will help to make it more workable over the years.
flowerprincess
Ogden, UT

March 19, 2007
11:26 PM

Post #3300331