Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Too many Daylilies

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 11, Views: 459
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
mmclane
Fenton, MO

April 3, 2007
2:30 PM

Post #3351243

I moved into my home about 4 years ago and inherited a fairly large garden, with ALOT of daylilies all grouped together. I'm new at this and recently realized that they are growing into each other and overcoming the rest of my gardening surrounding them! I've tried to dig some up, but the roots are very entangled. I'm not sure...but, aren't daylilies supposed to have some amount of space in between each other? And if so, how do I space them apart when they are already so entangled? Help! (I included a recent photo of the area I'm discussing-they obviously have not bloomed yet)

Thumbnail by mmclane
Click the image for an enlarged view.

lafko06
Brimfield, MA
(Zone 5a)

April 3, 2007
5:03 PM

Post #3351730

Hello there,

I just read an article on Daylilies today from Perennials magazine. I just pulled out out my 2005 spring and summer catalogs to re-read. Here is what they say on dividing:

Daylilies grow into large clumps that can easily be divided to make more plants for your own garden or for sharing with friends. Established clumps that have not been blooming as well as they should, might be a little crowded. Most experts recommend dividing dayliles every 5 years. You can divide daylilies in any season althought some gardeners say the best time is just after they finish blooming. Avoid dividing daylilies when it is too hot, too cold or too wet.

Work with recently watered (but not wet) soil. Use a garden fork to lift a clump of daylilies from the ground.